Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

FRSky Taranis Beginners Support Group

Old 03-12-2015, 05:48 PM
049flyer
My Feedback: (18)

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default FRSky Taranis Beginners Support Group

FrSky Taranis Beginners Support Group

Welcome beginning Taranis users, experienced users and all others curious about the FrSky Taranis.

Recently on an RCU message board concerning Futaba radios, several fellow Taranis users agreed that the FrSky Taranis was under represented on RCU and a "Taranis for Beginners" thread might be helpful. So here it is. Of Course everyone is welcome but please lets keep it focused on basic programming and set up for the sport level modeler.

First let me say that I am not a Taranis expert! I'm just a long time sport modeler that started flying in the Kraft-Orbit-Ace days. I purchased one of these awesome radios about a year ago and love it!

Programming the Taranis was a little confusing at first but the basic concepts clicked pretty fast and it was only a few hours before I was out flying with my new radio. I am able to make the radio do what I need it to do, but it really has way more capability than I'll ever need. Still, it's nice to know I'll never be hampered by my radio when encountering something new. After a year I'm still figuring it out as I go, especially if I want to do something out of the norm.

So what is a Taranis?

The Taranis is an 8 channel, expandable to 16 channels (maybe even 32!), 2.4 ghz computer radio manufactured by FrSky and costs about $200 for the transmitter. Receivers run about $20 to $40 but usually when you buy a Taranis you get just the transmitter, battery and charger. Some dealers sell a combo package that includes the radio with battery and charger, spiffy aluminum case, receiver and neck strap.

Why is it unique? Or 10 really cool features.